Skip to main content
This program is over. Hope you didn't miss it!

Nina Totenberg

2019 Benjamin Franklin Creativity Laureate Presentation

Evening Program

Evening Lecture/Seminar

Friday, April 5, 2019 - 7:00 p.m. to 8:15 p.m. ET
Code: 1H0427
National Museum of the American Indian
Rasmuson Theater
4th St & Independence Ave SW
Metro: L'Enfant Plaza
Select your Tickets
Nina Totenberg

The Benjamin Franklin Creativity Laureate Award recognizes and celebrates influential thinkers, innovators, and catalysts in the arts, sciences, and humanities in both traditional and emerging disciplines. Nina Totenberg, NPR's legal affairs correspondent, is the recipient of the 17th annual award, and discusses her career in a lively conversation with journalist Cokie Roberts during the presentation program.

Totenberg’s news coverage, focusing primarily on the activities and politics of the United States Supreme Court has won her legions of fans and numerous awards. A frequent contributor to major newspapers and periodicals, she has published articles in The New York Times MagazineHarvard Law ReviewChristian Science MonitorParade, New York magazine, and others.

Previous recipients of the Benjamin Franklin Creativity Laureate Award are Yo-Yo Ma, Sen. Daniel Patrick Moynihan, Eric Kandel, Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, Jules Feiffer, Ted Turner, Lisa Randall, Meryl Streep, Greg Mortenson, Johnnetta Cole, Mark Morris, Bill Drayton, Shirley Tilghman, Azar Nafisi, Tim Robbins, and Henry Louis Gates Jr. The award is made possible by the Creativity Collaboration, a joint project of Smithsonian Associates and the Creativity Foundation.