Skip to main content
This program is over. Hope you didn't miss it!

Masterworks of Three Centuries 2012-2013 Concert Series

Evening Performance

View additional Masterworks concerts!

Evening Performance

Sunday, October 7, 2012 - 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. ET
Code: 1P0328
National Museum of American History
Hall of Musical Instruments
14th & Constitution Avenue, NW
Smithsonian Metro (Blue/Orange Line)
Select your Tickets

The Smithsonian Chamber Music Society celebrates its 36th season with an appropriately eclectic repast, balancing familiar masterworks with undeservedly neglected oeuvres perdues.

The season opens with the return of Dutch violinist Vera Beths, violist Steven Dann, and pianist Pedja Muzijevic, for two charming French piano quartets, plus the second of Beethoven’s Op. 9 trios.

One hour prior to each program, Kenneth Slowik, SCMS artistic director and recipient of the 2011 Smithsonian Secretary’s Distinguished Research Lecture Award, provides a pre-concert talk, shedding light on the glorious music and the life and times of the featured composers.

To learn more about the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society, click here.



Beethoven: Trio in D Major, Op. 9, No. 2
Faure: Piano Quartet in C Minor, Op. 15
Chausson: Piano Quartet in A Major, Op. 30

The Smithsonian Chamber Players
Vera Beths, violin; Steven Dann, viola; Kenneth Slowik, violoncello; Pedja Muzijevic, piano


Program, location, and artists subject to change.

To view other concerts in this classical series, click here.