This program is over.

Hope you didn't miss it!  Find more programs here.

Masterworks of Five Centuries 2017-2018 Saturday Concert Series

Evening Performance

View this year's Masterworks Saturday concerts!

Saturday, Oct. 7, 2017
Pre-concert lecture: 6:30 p.m.
Concert: 7:30 p.m. Concert: 7:30 p.m.
Code: 1P0586

Text Size
- +

The 41st season of the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society features musical masterpieces from the early 17th century to the early 21st, played on some of the world’s most highly prized musical instruments in this six-concert series. This season’s Masterworks of Five Centuries series commemorates the 190th anniversary of the death of Franz Schubert. This concert series is also offered on Sunday dates.

Kenneth Slowik, artistic director and recipient of the Smithsonian Distinguished Scholar Award, curates a series of pre-concert lectures (one hour prior to each program), shedding light on the glorious music and the life and times of the featured composers.

To learn more about the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society, click here


This series opens in early October with the final installment in the Chamber Players’ survey of all of Haydn’s trios written for the five-octave fortepiano.

Joseph Haydn: Three Piano Trios, Hob: XV: 27-29, “dedicated to Mrs. Bartolozzi” (1797)

The Smithsonian Chamber Players: Catherine Manson, violin; Myron Lutzke, violoncello; Kenneth Slowik, fortepiano 


Program, location, and artists are subject to change.

To view other concerts in this Saturday classical concert series, click here. This concert series also is offered on Sunday dates. There is also an mixed Saturday/Sunday series.


National Museum of American History
Hall of Music (3rd floor)
14th St & Constitution Ave NW