Skip to main content
This program is over. Hope you didn't miss it!

The Axelrod String Quartet: Stradivarius and Amati (Saturday series)

Smithsonian Chamber Music Society In-Person Concert

Weekend Performance

Saturday, December 9, 2023 - 3:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. ET
Code: 1P0814
National Museum of American History
Nicholas and Eugenia Taubman Hall of Music
14th St & Constitution Ave NW
Select your Tickets
Save when you purchase this program as a part of one of these series!

Axelrod Quartet (clockwise from left): Marc Destrubé, violin; James Dunham, viola; Kenneth Slowik, violoncello

Please Note: This program has a rescheduled time (originally 7:30 to 9:30 p.m. concert with a 6:30 p.m. pre-concert lecture).

Smithsonian Chamber Music Society audiences are privy to the unparalleled experience of being able to hear two magnificent quartets of instruments—one made by Antonio Stradivari, the other by his teacher Nicoló Amati—in this popular three-concert series on Saturdays.

The Axelrod Quartet—Marc Destrubé (violin), James Dunham (viola), Kenneth Slowik (violoncello), and now includes violinist Mark Fewer—presents three programs, each of which is anchored by one of Schubert’s last quartets. Additional works of quartet masters Haydn, Beethoven, and Shostakovich are joined by three 20th-century works related, in their diversity, to varied interests of the National Museum of American History through the 2023-2024 concert season. Note that only Saturday concerts feature a pre-concert lecture.

Concert Program

This concert features music by Ludwig van Beethoven, Franz Schubert, and 20th-century composer, Florence Price. Much of the music of African American composer Florence Price was rediscovered only in 2009. Her Quartet in G Major, a work from 1929, recalls the harmonic language of Antonín Dvorák, who prophesized, "In the Negro melodies of America I discover all that is needed for a great and noble school of music.”

  • Florence Price: String Quartet in G Major
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 74, the Harp
  • Franz Schubert: Quartet in A Minor, D804, Rosamunde

Additional Axelrod String Quartet Saturday Series Concerts

Other Smithsonian Chamber Music Society Performances

General Information

  • Update: Advanced sales will close at 2 p.m. on Friday, December 8, 2023. Limited tickets will be available for purchase at the door. Mobile device and credit card only. No cash transactions.
  • Upon arrival at the museum, please proceed to the 3rd floor of the museum (West side) and check-in at the Will Call table outside Taubman Hall of Music.
  • Refer to our health and safety information for in-person programs.