Skip to main content

This program is sold out.

Call us at (202) 633-3030 to get on the Wait List. Additional tickets may become available or additional sessions may be added.

The Axelrod String Quartet 2017-2018 Saturday Concert Series

Evening Performance

View this year's Axelrod Saturday concerts!

Saturday, April 28, 2018
Pre-concert lecture: 6:30 p.m.
Concert: 7:30 p.m.
Code: 1P0600

Text Size
- +

Smithsonian Chamber Music Society audiences are privy to the unparalleled experience of being able to hear two magnificent quartets of instruments—one made by Antonio Stradivari, the other by his teacher Nicolo Amati—in this popular three-concert series. This concert series is also offered on Sunday dates.

Kenneth Slowik, artistic director and recipient of the Smithsonian Distinguished Scholar Award, curates a series of pre-concert lectures (one hour prior to each program), shedding light on the glorious music and the life and times of the featured composers.

To learn more about the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society, click here.


The ensemble continues its traversal of Joseph Haydn’s quartets with the first three of the Op. 33 quartets, published in 1782, a decade after Haydn’s previous quartet offerings, and described by the composer himself as “written in a completely new and special way.” Also, Oberlin’s Nicholas Gallitano lends his instrumental voice to the Brahms Quintet in G Major, Op. 111.

Joseph Haydn: Quartet in B Minor, Op. 33, No. 1 (1781)
Ludwig van Beethoven: Quartet in B-flat Major, Op. 18, No. 6 (1801)
Johannes Brahms: Quintet in G Major, Op. 111 (1890)


Program, location, and artists are subject to change.

To view other concerts in this Saturday classical concert series, click here. This concert series also is offered on Sunday dates.


National Museum of American History
Hall of Music (3rd floor)
14th St & Constitution Ave NW