Skip to main content
This program is over. Hope you didn't miss it!

Masterworks of Four Centuries 2015-2016 Sunday Concert Series

Evening Performance

View this year's Masterworks Sunday concerts!

Evening Performance

Sunday, December 6, 2015 - 7:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. ET
Code: 1P0490
National Museum of American History
Music Hall (3rd floor)
14th St & Constitution Ave NW
Select your Tickets
Save when you purchase this program as a part of one of these series!

The 39th season of the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society features musical masterpieces from the 17th to the early 20th century, played on some of the world’s most highly prized musical instruments in this six-concert series. Featured ensembles are as follows: The Smithsonian Chamber Players, Smithsonian Consort of Viols, and the Castle Trio. This concert series is also offered on Saturday dates.

One hour prior to each program Kenneth Slowik, SCMS artistic director, continues his popular pre-concert lectures, shedding light on the lives and times of the featured composers and their glorious music.

To learn more about the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society, click here.



The season opens with Kenneth Slowik and Robert Mealy (Boston Early Music Festival Orchestra concertmaster and Juilliard Historical Performance graduate program director) completing their survey of Bach sonatas for violin and obbligato keyboard.

Sun., Dec. 6
J.S. Bach and C.P.E. Bach: Sonatas for violin and harpsichord
The Smithsonian Chamber Players
Robert Mealy, violin; Kenneth Slowik, harpsichord


Program, location, and artists are subject to change.

To view other concerts in this Sunday classical concert series, click here. This concert series also is offered on Saturday dates.