Skip to main content
This program is sold out.

There is no waitlist available for this program. Contact us to inquire about ticket availability.

Masterworks of Five Centuries 2019-2020 Saturday Concert Series

Weekend Concert

Evening Performance

Saturday, February 1, 2020 - 7:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. ET
Code: 1P0682
National Museum of American History
Nicholas and Eugenia Taubman Hall of Music
14th St & Constitution Ave NW
Select your Tickets
Save when you purchase this program as a part of one of these series!

The 43rd season of the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society features masterpieces from the late 16th to the mid-20th centuries, played on some of the world’s most highly prized musical instruments.

Kenneth Slowik, SCMS artistic director and recipient of the Smithsonian Distinguished Scholar Award, again curates a series of pre-concert talks one hour prior to each concert.


San Francisco Conservatory professor of violin Ian Swensen and Kenneth Slowik offer selections by Haydn and Bach, including the Fifth Brandenburg Concerto, joined by five Smithsonian Chamber Music Society Fellows.

Haydn: Sonata in B Minor, Hob. XVI: 32;
J.S. Bach: Partita in D Major, BWV 828
J.S. Bach: Sonata in B Minor, BWV 1014
J.S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D Major, BWV 1050

Smithsonian Chamber Players: Ian Swensen, violin; Kenneth Slowik, harpsichord with SCMS Fellows

Program, location, and artists are subject to change.

To view other concerts in this Saturday classical concert series, click here. This concert series also is offered on Sunday dates.