This program is over.

Hope you didn't miss it!  Find more programs here.

The Axelrod String Quartet 2017-2018 Sunday Concert Series

Evening Performance

View this year's Axelrod Sunday concerts!

Sunday, November 12, 2017
Pre-concert lecture: 6:30 p.m.
Concert: 7:30 p.m.
Code: 1P0601

Text Size
- +

Smithsonian Chamber Music Society audiences are privy to the unparalleled experience of being able to hear two magnificent quartets of instruments—one made by Antonio Stradivari, the other by his teacher Nicolo Amati—in this popular three-concert series. This concert series is also offered on Saturday dates.

Kenneth Slowik, artistic director and recipient of the Smithsonian Distinguished Scholar Award, curates a series of pre-concert lectures (one hour prior to each program), shedding light on the glorious music and the life and times of the featured composers.

To learn more about the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society, click here.


The ensemble continues its traversal of Joseph Haydn’s quartets with the first three of the Op. 33 quartets, published in 1782, a decade after Haydn’s previous quartet offerings, and described by the composer himself as “written in a completely new and special way.” Also, Hee Sun Yang, from the Shepherd School of Music at Rice University, assists in the Mozart Quintet in C Major, K515.

Joseph Haydn: Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 33, No. 2, The Joke (1781)    
Johannes Brahms: Quartet in C Minor, Op. 51, No. 1 (1873)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Quintet in C Major, K515 (1787)


Program, location, and artists are subject to change.

To view other concerts in this Saturday classical concert series, click here. This concert series also is offered on Saturday dates.


National Museum of American History
Hall of Music (3rd floor)
14th St & Constitution Ave NW