Skip to main content
This program is over. Hope you didn't miss it!

Masterworks of Five Centuries (Saturday series)

Smithsonian Chamber Music Society In-Person Concert

Weekend Performance

Saturday, October 14, 2023 - 7:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. ET
Code: 1P0820
National Museum of American History
Nicholas and Eugenia Taubman Hall of Music
14th St & Constitution Ave NW
Select your Tickets
Save when you purchase this program as a part of one of these series!

Smithsonian Chamber Music Society concerts are held in the intimate Nicholas and Eugenia Taubman Hall of Music, American History Museum (Photo: Hugh Talman/Smithsonian)

The 46th season of the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society features musical masterpieces from the late 16th century to the cusp of the 21st, played on some of the world’s most highly prized musical instruments. Veteran musicians of the Society are joined in several of the programs by emerging artists during this 7-concert series held mostly on Saturdays. The season presents three chamber program dyads, plus a chamber orchestra concert. The Smithsonian Consort of Viols makes two appearances.

Concert Program

This concert features fugues of Bach from The Art of Fugue combined with Bach fugue arrangements by Mozart. Note this program features a pre-concert lecture at 6:30 p.m.

Fugues of Bach and Mozart 

The Smithsonian Consort of Viols
Kenneth Slowik, Arnie Tanimoto, Catherine Slowik, and Chelsea Bernstein, viols 

Additional Masterworks of Five Centuries Saturday Series Concerts

Other Smithsonian Chamber Music Society Performances

General Information