Skip to main content
Become a member and save up to 24% on the price of your tickets!
Join today

If you are already a member, log in to access your member price.

The Axelrod String Quartet: Stradivarius and Amati (Sunday series)

Smithsonian Chamber Music Society In-Person Concert

Weekend Performance

Sunday, December 10, 2023 - 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. ET
Code: 1P0817
National Museum of American History
Nicholas and Eugenia Taubman Hall of Music
14th St & Constitution Ave NW
Select your Tickets
*Log in to add this program to your wishlist
Save when you purchase this program as a part of one of these series!

Axelrod Quartet (clockwise from left): Marc Destrubé, violin; James Dunham, viola; Kenneth Slowik, violoncello

Smithsonian Chamber Music Society audiences are privy to the unparalleled experience of being able to hear two magnificent quartets of instruments—one made by Antonio Stradivari, the other by his teacher Nicoló Amati—in this popular three-concert series on Sundays.

The Axelrod Quartet—Marc Destrubé (violin), James Dunham (viola), Kenneth Slowik (violoncello), and now includes violinist Mark Fewer—presents three programs, each of which is anchored by one of Schubert’s last quartets. Additional works of quartet masters Haydn, Beethoven, and Shostakovich are joined by three 20th-century works related, in their diversity, to varied interests of the National Museum of American History through the 2023-2024 concert season. Note that Sunday concerts do not feature pre-concert lectures.

Concert Program

This concert features music by Ludwig van Beethoven, Franz Schubert, and 20th-century composer, Florence Price. Much of the music of African American composer Florence Price was rediscovered only in 2009. Her Quartet in G Major, a work from 1929, recalls the harmonic language of Antonín Dvorák, who prophesized, "In the Negro melodies of America I discover all that is needed for a great and noble school of music.”

  • Florence Price: String Quartet in G Major
  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 74, the Harp
  • Franz Schubert: Quartet in A Minor, D804, Rosamunde

Additional Axelrod String Quartet Sunday Series Concerts

Other Smithsonian Chamber Music Society Performances

General Information

  • Advance registration for this concert will tentatively end by 2 p.m. ET on Friday, December 8, 2023. If tickets will be available at the door additional information will be posted leading up to the concert.
  • Refer to our health and safety information for in-person programs.