This program is over.

Hope you didn't miss it!  Find more programs here.

Masterworks of Five Centuries 2016-2017 Sunday Concert Series

Evening Performance

View this year's Masterworks Sunday concerts!

Sunday, May 7, 2017

Pre-concert lecture: 6:30 to 7:15 p.m.
Concert: 7:30 to 9:30 p.m.
Code: 1P0546

Text Size
- +

The 40th season of the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society features masterpieces from the early 17th to the early 21st century, played on some of the world’s most highly prized instruments in this six-concert series. Featured ensembles are as follows: The Smithsonian Chamber Players, Smithsonian Consort of Viols, and the Esterházy Machine. This concert series is also offered on Saturday dates.

Kenneth Slowik, artistic director and recipient of the Smithsonian Distinguished Scholar Award, curates a series of pre-concert lectures (one hour prior to each program), shedding light on the glorious music and the life and times of the featured composers.

To learn more about the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society, click here.



The season ends on a festive note, with the Esterházy Machine presenting a sampling of the 126 baryton trios Haydn wrote for his music-loving employer Prince Nikolaus Esterház “The Magnificent,” and Robert Schumann’s genial piano quartet of 1842.

Sun., May 7
Joseph Haydn: Trios “fatto per S.A.S. Prencipe Estorhazi”
Robert Schumann: Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 47

The Esterházy Machine
Steven Dann, viola; Myron Lutzke, violoncello; Kenneth Slowik, baryton and piano; with Ian Swensen, violin


Program, location, and artists are subject to change.

To view other concerts in this Sunday classical concert series, click here. This concert series also is offered on Saturday dates.


National Museum of American History
Music Hall (3rd floor)
14th St & Constitution Ave NW