This program is over.

Hope you didn't miss it!  Find more programs here.

Masterworks of Five Centuries 2016-2017 Saturday Concert Series

Evening Performance

View this year's Masterworks Saturday concerts!

Saturday, October 8, 2016

Pre-concert lecture: 6:30 to 7:15 p.m.
Concert: 7:30 to 9:30 p.m.
Code: 1P0535

Text Size
- +

The 40th season of the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society features masterpieces from the early 17th to the early 21st century, played on some of the world’s most highly prized instruments in this six-concert series. Featured ensembles are as follows: The Smithsonian Chamber Players, Smithsonian Consort of Viols, and the Esterházy Machine. This concert series is also offered on Sunday dates.

Kenneth Slowik, artistic director and recipient of the Smithsonian Distinguished Scholar Award, curates a series of pre-concert lectures (one hour prior to each program), shedding light on the glorious music and the life and times of the featured composers.

To learn more about the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society, click here.



The season opens in October with a turn-of-the-century Viennese program containing two contrasting works of Arnold Schönberg: his like D major quartet of 1897, and his monumental D minor quartet of 1904–05, which is formally a small-scale analogue to the First Chamber Symphony heard at the conclusion of last season.

Sat., Oct. 8
Krzysztof Penderecki: Leaves of an Unwritten Diary
Samuel Barber: Adagio from the String Quartet, Op. 11
Arnold Schoenberg: Quartet in D Minor, Op. 7

The Smithsonian Chamber Players
Mark Fewer and Audrey Wright, violin; Steven Dann, viola; Kenneth Slowik, violoncello


Program, location, and artists are subject to change.

To view other concerts in this Saturday classical concert series, click here. This concert series also is offered on Sunday dates.


National Museum of American History
Music Hall (3rd floor)
14th St & Constitution Ave NW