Skip to main content

Masterworks of Five Centuries 2018-2019 Saturday Concert Series

This program is over. Hope you didn't miss it!

Masterworks of Five Centuries 2018-2019 Saturday Concert Series

Evening Performance

View this year's Masterworks Saturday concerts!

Evening Performance

Saturday, May 11, 2019 - 7:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. ET
Code: 1P0647
National Museum of American History
Nicholas and Eugenia Taubman Hall of Music
14th St & Constitution Ave NW
Select your Registration
Save when you purchase this program as a part of one of these series!

The 42nd season of the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society (SCMS) features musical masterpieces from the 17th to the early 21st century, played on some of the world’s most highly prized musical instruments.

This concert series is also offered on Sunday dates.

Kenneth Slowik, SCMS artistic director and recipient of the Smithsonian Distinguished Scholar Award, again curates a series of pre-concert talks one hour prior to each concert.

To learn more about the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society, click here.


This concert features works of Bach, Haydn, and Mozart, in which either a veteran SCMS violinist or exceptional player of the younger generation dialogues with keyboardist Kenneth Slowik.

J. S. Bach: Suite in D Minor, BWV 811
J. S. Bach: Sonata in A Major, BWV 1015
Joseph Haydn: Sonata in D Major, Hob. XVI: 37
Wolfgang Amadus Mozart: Sonata in C Major, K303/293c

The Smithsonian Chamber Players: Aisslinn Nosky, violin; Kenneth Slowik, harpsichord and fortepiano


Program, location, and artists are subject to change.

To view other concerts in this Saturday classical concert series, click here. This concert series also is offered on Sunday dates.

Smithsonian Year of Music